The 13th Innovations in Theoretical Computer Science (ITCS) conference will be hosted by the Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing in Berkeley. It will be held online or in a hybrid mode   from January 31 to February 3, 2022.

Conference details, registration, and graduating bits

General. All conference events will be accessible vitrually. The program will run daily from January 31 until February 3, from approximately 10am EST (Eastern US Time) to 6:30pm EST. Proceedings will be available in an open-access format ahead of the conference start.

Program. Is available here: [tentative schedule].

Registration. Participants should register using the following [registration link]. Registration to attend the conference virtually is free of charge, but please do register to receive relevant links ahead of time. Authors will receive a separate email regarding registering papers at a cost of $100 USD.

Graduating bits: As is tradition at ITCS, there will be a "Graduating Bits (GB)" session intended for conference participants who are near to graduation (on either side) and wish to present their results, research, plans, personality, etc. This will take place at noon ET on Tuesday, February 1, 2022. If you wish to participate, contact the GB organizer Gautam Kamath ( as soon as possible. In your email, please include basic information (year or intended year of graduation, university, PhD advisor, thesis topic).

ITCS seeks to promote research that carries a strong conceptual message (e.g., introducing a new concept, model or understanding, opening a new line of inquiry within traditional or interdisciplinary areas; introducing new mathematical techniques and methodologies;  new applications of known techniques). ITCS welcomes both conceptual and technical contributions whose contents will advance and inspire the greater theory community.


Authors should upload a PDF of the paper to the submission server using the following link:

The font size should be at least 11 point and the paper should be single column. Beyond these, there are no formatting requirements. Authors are asked to indicate COI with PC members as a part of the submission process.

All papers should be pre-registered with title, authors, and abstract, by September 5, 7:59PM EDT (UTC−04:00) September 6, 7:59PM EDT (UTC−04:00) .
Final submissions are due by September 9, 7:59PM EDT (UTC−04:00) September 13, 7:59PM EDT (UTC−04:00).
Intended author notification: November 1.

Notes: (1) We will only be able to accept papers that are registered by the registration deadline, since registration information will be used to assign papers to PC members; (2) Due to the tight overall process, we will be unable to give additional extensions.

Submissions should not have the authors' names on them. Instead, author and institution information is to be uploaded separately. PC members will still be able to access author names in the reviewing process if they feel they need to; the intent of this procedure is to make it easier for PC members to remove unconscious biases. You are free (and encouraged) to post your paper on your web page, the arXiv, etc.

Authors should strive to make their paper accessible not only to experts in their subarea, but also to the theory community at large. The submission should include proofs of all central claims. In addition, it is recommended that the paper contain, within the first 10 pages, a concise and clear presentation of the merits of the paper, including a discussion of its significance, innovations, and place within (or outside) of our field's scope and literature. The committee will put a premium on writing that conveys clearly, in as simple and straightforward a manner as possible, what the paper accomplishes.

All submissions will be treated as confidential, and will only be disclosed to the committee and their chosen sub-referees. In addition, the program committee may consult with journal editors and program chairs of other conferences about controversial issues such as parallel submissions.

Prior, simultaneous, and subsequent submissions

Results published/presented/submitted at another archival conference will not be considered for ITCS. Simultaneous submission to ITCS and to a journal is allowed. Papers accepted to ITCS should not be submitted to any other archival conferences.

Online posting

Authors are encouraged to post full versions of their submissions in a freely accessible online repository such as the arxiv, the ECCC, or the Cryptology ePrint archive. We expect that authors of accepted papers will make full versions of their papers, with proofs, available before the conference begins.

Code of Conduct

ITCS is committed to an inclusive conference experience, respectful of all participants, and free from any discrimination or harassment, including unwelcome advances or propositions of an intimate nature, particularly when coming from a more senior researcher to a less senior one. All ITCS attendees are expected to behave accordingly. If you experience or witness discrimination, harassment or other unethical behavior at the conference, we encourage you to seek advice and remedy through one or more of the following options:
Consult with the SafeToC counselors in residence at ITCS 2022: Sumegha Garg ( and Tom Gur ( A list of SafeToC advocates for ITCS is available here (
Report to Mark Braverman (ITCS'22 PC chair) or Ronitt Rubinfeld (ITCS Steering Committee chair). The chairs are entitled to remove registered participants from the conference, if they are deemed to pose a risk to other participants.

Program Committee

Maryam Aliakbarpour (Boston University/Northeastern University)
Josh Alman (Columbia University )
Hagit Attiya (Technion)
Omri Ben-Eliezer (MIT)
Aditya Bhaskara (University of Utah)
Mark Braverman (Princeton University, chair)
Guy Bresler (MIT)
Yang Cai (Yale University)
Lijie Chen (MIT)
Xue Chen (George Mason University)
Ken Clarkson (IBM Research )
Anindya De (University of Pennsylvania)
Mahsa Derakhshan (Princeton University)
Talya Eden (MIT and Boston University)
Kousha Etessami (University of Edinburgh)
Yuval Filmus (Technion)
Anna Gilbert (Yale University)
Paul Goldberg (Oxford University )
Kira Goldner (Boston University )
Elena Grigorescu (Purdue University )
Alex Bredariol Grilo (CNRS and Sorbonne Université)
Justin Holmgren (NTT Research)
Karthik C. S. (Rutgers University )
Antonina Kolokolova (Memorial University of Newfoundland)
Lap Chi Lau (University of Waterloo)
François Le Gall (Nagoya University)
Jasper Lee (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Frederic Magniez (CNRS Paris)
Pasin Manurangsi (Google Research )
Ruta Mehta (UIUC)
Jamie Morgenstern (University of Washington)
Guy Moshkovitz (CUNY)
Igor Oliveira (University of Warwick)
Rafael Oliveira (University of Waterloo)
Rotem Oshman (Tel-Aviv Unviersity )
Renato Paes Leme (Google Research )
Rafael Pass (Cornell University )
Sofya Raskhodnikova (Boston University )
Dana Ron (Tel-Aviv University )
Noga Ron-Zewi (University of Haifa)
Benjamin Rossman (Duke University )
Alexander Russell (University of Connecticut)
Rahul Santhanam (Oxford University )
Nitin Saxena (IIT Kanpur)
Raghuvansh Saxena (Microsoft Research)
Ariel Schvartzman (DIMACS)
Max Simchowitz (UC Berkeley )
Makrand Sinha (Simons Institute and UC Berkeley )
Adam Smith (Boston University )
Thomas Steinke (Google Research)
Kunal Talwar (Apple )
Dave Touchette (Université de Sherbrooke)
Paul Valiant (Purdue University )
Nicole Wein (DIMACS)
Daniel Wichs (Northeastern University and NTT Research)
James Worrell (Oxford University )
Steven Wu (Carnegie Mellon University)
Eylon Yogev (Bar-Ilan University)
Peilin Zhong (Google Research )
Standa Zivny (Oxford University)